A Perfectly Fine By Me Banner Year

IMG_3477
The “Landscape is Vast.”

…and all that crap. It seems we get to the end of the year, take stock and make false niceties. I won’t bore you with the details of my year, it was average. I have come to the conclusion I am not fabulous, have no super powers and the magic of Christmas flew out a crack in an open window ages ago. And that, is perfectly fine by me. Much to my chagrin, I climb the four flights of stairs to the attic more times than I can count, open the secret partition and drag down the minimum, outdated necessary decor; a worn, white feather wreath, forty-year old, beat up Santa doll waving and smiling, reindeer ornament strung by his neck floating in free fall (did that on purpose for my own entertainment). Yeah I cave for someone else, not for me. Maybe I learned a little kindness, tolerance this banner year. Who can say? Maybe, just maybe I’m stuck between tradition and the open road. One thing I know, karma is a nasty bitch. Best be cheery, fake it even when you don’t feel like it. The Zen room remains free and clear of red, white and green. Happy Holidays y’all, whichever road your traveling down.

Leave a comment